Five Crucial Facts About DUIs
Tennessee has very strict laws against driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol while driving. Below are five facts Nashville car accident lawyers want you to know.
First, you can be charged with a DUI with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08. If you are under the age of 21, you can be charged with a BAC of 0.02. If you operate a vehicle with a commercial license, you can be charged with a BAC of 0.04.
Second, penalties are severe. For a first offense, you can receive a fine of up to $350 to $1,500 and a jail sentence of from 48 hours up to 11 months. Your license may be suspended for up to a year, and an ignition interlock device (IID), which will not allow the car to turn on if alcohol is sensed, is mandatory.
Third, for a second offense, the penalties rise steeply. The fine imposed may be from $600 to $3,500. A jail term imposed by the court may be from 45 days up to one year. An IID is mandatory here as well. Your license may be suspended for two years.
Fourth, for a third offense, the penalties are even higher. Fines rise to $1,100 to $10,000. The jail sentence may be from 120 days to one year. A license suspension may be from three to ten years. An IID continues to be mandatory.
Fifth, if you are convicted of a DUI in Tennessee, it remains on your record for 10 years. This decade, known as a look-back period, means that your sentence if you are convicted for DUI after a first conviction will be imposed as a second-time offender charge, even if the first conviction was 8 or 9 years prior.
Do you need to talk to Nashville car accident lawyers? Please contact us for a consultation.