Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu

Accident Lawyers Encourage You To Wear Your Seat Belt

Fastened Seat Belt Stock Photo

A recent multi-vehicle accident in Rutherford County is a reminder of the importance of using seat belts. A 27-year-old woman was driving eastbound on State Route 840 when her vehicle ran off the road. She overcorrected and crossed into oncoming traffic, colliding head-on with another vehicle. The 27-year-old was ejected from the vehicle and hit by a third vehicle. Both the 27-year-old woman and the driver of the second vehicle died from injuries sustained in the crash. Neither was wearing a seat belt, which, according to Tennessee Highway Patrol, would have made a difference in the crash.

Although it can be tempting to go without your seat belt, Tennessee law requires everyone to wear a seat belt. Here are a few things you should know about Tennessee’s seat belt law:

  • Those under 1-year-old or weighing less than 20 pounds should be in an approved rear-facing child car seat.
  • Children 1 to 3, or more than 20 pounds should be in an approved forward-facing or rear-facing car seat.
  • Children 4 to 8 and less than 4 foot 9 inches should be properly secured in a booster seat system.
  • Children and adults who exceed the child safety limits should all use a seat belt when riding in the front seat of a motor vehicle.
  • When available, both shoulder and lap belts should be used.
  • Anyone 16 or older, who has a driver’s license, may be ticketed for not using a seat belt.

Unfortunately, even if you are wearing your seat belt, you can get injured in a car accident. You are just less likely to be severely harmed. If you are the victim of a car crash, contact us. Our Nashville car accident lawyers will discuss your rights with you and help you determine if you have a case.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation